Volume 2012, Issue 3

The Board of Editors is pleased to present Issue 3 of the 2012 Volume.

In this annual symposium issue the University of Illinois Law Review presents the speaker contributions to the symposium on Jack Balkin’s Constitutional Text and Principle, celebrating the publication of his latest book, Living Originalism.

Contributions to this issue include articles by

The issue concludes with notes by Stephen Blecha, Shauna R. Collins, and Lana Freeman.

Volume 2012, Number 2

The Board of Editors is pleased to present Issue 2 of the 2012 Volume.

First, Professor Katharine K. Baker explores the ironies involved in the contemporary enforcement of family obligations. As forms of intimate partnership and parenthood become ever more varied, the law of family obligation—child support, property division, and alimony—has become increasingly routine and formulaic. She explains how the law’s rejection of context is an understandable reaction to the growing diversity of family forms.

Next, Professor Robert C. Ellickson challenges the conventional wisdom that cultural differences are the primary reasons why a resident of the United States is twice as likely to move to a different home than a resident of France (or of western Europe as a whole). The Article also offers a normative framework for analyzing the desirability of household relocations. Legal policies that foster residential moves can enable individuals to better match themselves with a job, a dwelling, a set of housemates, a tenure arrangement, a neighborhood, and a municipality (à la Tiebout).

Following, Professor James Grimmelmann tells the story of Sealand and HavenCo. Where others have seen HavenCo’s failure as the triumph of traditional regulatory authorities over HavenCo, this Article argues that in a very real sense, HavenCo failed not from too much law but from too little. The “law” that was supposed to keep HavenCo safe was law only in a thin, formalistic sense, disconnected from the human institutions that make and enforce law. But without those institutions, law does not work, as HavenCo discovered.

The issue continues with the  David C. Baum Lecture by Professor Geoffrey Stone, who analyzes the recent trend of conservative judicial activism in the Supreme Court and searches for a principled reason to explain it. The conservative majority has struck down several laws in recent years, culminating in its invalidation of an important provision of the Bipartisan Campaign Reform Act of 2002 in Citizens United v. Federal Election Commission. While judicial restraint and originalism are currently seen as conservative principles, neither principle explains these decisions.

Finally, the issue concludes with student notes by Hassen T. Al-Shawaf, J. Matthew Haws, and Marcy Zora.

2012-2013 Board of Editors

The University of Illinois Law Review invites you to join us in congratulating the following members who have been elected to the 2012-2013 Board of Editors:

Editor-in-Chief: Jake Jost

Managing Editor: Caitlin Harrington

Executive Editor: Dan Raymond

Executive Production Editor: Elliott Bacon

Managing Articles Editor: Scott Elmer

Articles Editors: Hannah Costigan-Cowles, Jane Dudzinski, Vanessa Savino, James Schmidt, Justin Trapp

Managing Notes & Comments Editor: Angela Gilbert

Notes & Comments Editors: Anthony DeLaPaz, Angela Gilbert, James Liu, Katie Robillard, Amy Timm, John Tully